A. Grace. B. Obedience. C. Both. (Pick ONE.)   Leave a comment

I have struggled for some time trying to find the “fine line” between knowing I’m saved by grace through faith, and being obedient to God’s word.  The problem is…they weren’t made to be separate

Too many times, I’ve been pointed at and described as being “legalistic” just because I choose to obey.  It doesn’t mean I believe that I’m saved by doing what I do…but I AM called to be a doer of the Word and not just a hearer.  This means that I’m called to obey–I’m called for the purpose of obedience.  Because obedience is how we show God that we know Him and love Him–and how we affirm to ourselves that we really do!  (See John 14:15 and 1 John 5:2.)

I’m only posting here to share another writer’s post with you.  But also to reiterate the fact that these two go together.  It is only by the power and might of the most high God that I am saved by HIS grace through MY faith.  And it is only by His power that I can overcome my sinful nature and be obedient to His word to show Him my love!  I take no credit–but I do take the call to obedience SO seriously. 

I hope you enjoy this post by Ruth Schwenk at MomHeart entitled, “What does Obedience have to do with Freedom?” 

I would love your thoughts on my intro–or on Ruth’s post!  Come back and comment after you read! 

Blessings!

Posted July 24, 2012 by whohearsahorton in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

