Carpe diem!   1 comment

It is translated, “Seize the day!”

It comes from a line in Horace, which says, “Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero” and means “Seize the day, putting as little trust as possible in the future.”

Today, the Lord is reminding me to “number my days” (Psalm 90:12).  When I read that passage, I hear the Lord saying, life is short.  Do what you can in the time you have! 

And James 4:14 says, “Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away.” 

Today, I am hearing Him say, “Seize TODAY!” 

 

In this very commercial world and country I live in, there are neon lights turned on somewhere all the time.  There is a place you can buy something open 24/7.

Today is Friday, August 10–just about smack dab in the middle of summer here in Alabama.  So, it is HOT!  It’s also the season for storms.  And football season is here. 

And would you believe I’ve been hearing about football for MONTHS???  Yeah, down here in Bama, we take football pretty seriously.  So all summer, there has been a countdown toward the start of football season. 

Today, I saw ads for scented candles that signify that Autumn is drawing near.  But is it really?  Or do we still have one full month of summer?  Yeah, summer is not over yet

I notice how much we miss out on one season looking toward the next one!  (I say “we” there, because I do it too!)  This HOT summer of ours has me looking forward to (hopefully) the cooler temps of Fall.  And as the school year begins for so many, already, they look forward to Labor Day break or Christmas break.  Over Christmas break, I’m sure to read some Facebook statuses wishing that kids could go BACK to school.  Then dreams of Spring Break, then counting down to another summer, and then counting down til kids go back to school again. 

Is it too much to ask that we just STOP?  Let me enjoy summer to the end before you start pushing me into fall.  Then let me enjoy the vibrant colors of fall before you put snowmen up to decorate for December and Christmas.  Let’s enjoy our time with family over Christmas and Spring Break, and even let’s make the best of the days we do things we “have to do” (like school). 

Let’s just enjoy the season we are in TODAY. 

I mean, it’s like asking me what I want for lunch–WHILE I’m eating breakfast!  Just let me enjoy my muffin!  And then, when it’s time, I’ll make myself a sandwich for lunch. 

AnyWHO…

It just seems we are, as an entire world, missing out on the beauty of each day by looking forward to the next.  I admit, I’ve missed it TOO many days.  But now, I am learning to number my days–to realize that my life won’t last forever.  To realize that I’m not promised a tomorrow at all.  To realize that TODAY is what I have right now.  And it’s what you have, too.

You’ve heard the little quote that says,

“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is God’s gift, that’s why we call it the present.”

Today truly is a gift.  Right this moment is a gift.  As you read this blog, even, you are using up the gift–the one gift that you can’t get back after it is spent. 

I’m sure you’ll all understand that I’m cutting this blog post short for a reason. 

I’ve got some seizing to do! 

Blessings!

 

 

 

Posted August 10, 2012 by whohearsahorton in Uncategorized

One response to “Carpe diem!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting that you chose this topic to discuss. Since July 2, I have felt compelled to seize not only the day, but each moment. I have certainly slowed down and ignored agendas. I have noticed the colors in the sky and the scent of pluff mud as I drive by the wetlands. I watch the tides rise and fall in the coastal creeks. I don’t feel offended when someone makes an off-handed comment toward me.
    However, I have longed to feel more of the presence of the Holy Spirit. I cannot find enough of God’s presence in this world. There is a peace that is lacking in the current of daily living. How I long to see more of His glory in the lives of others. I pray His light will shine through me so others will see the difference He makes in my heart and desire to know Him intimately.
    Thanks for sharing this blog. Love you, Rhonda

Leave a Reply

